h1

Chapter 2: Arrival in The City

May 17, 2010

I finally pulled my car up the steep hill that was all too familiar to me. I pushed  deeper on the gas pedal it choked and revved its way up the hill slowly. “My car is totally gonna break going up this shoddy hill I swear!” I said.  I reached the top of the hill and placed my car in a parking space , next to a dirt hill that was home to my car 2 years ago, during my stay and education at The Los Angeles Film School. I parked , grabbed my heavy messenger bag, and got out of my car and was instantly greeted by the familiar smells and sights and sounds of the city. How much I had missed it, and how glad and scared I had been on returning back here again. I walked over to a weedy hill that i knew overlooked the skyline of Downtown Los Angeles and looked out towards the city. Here was the future staring me in the face. I stayed on this hill for a good 10 minutes and absorbed the reality that I was here before I walked away and began looking for my family. I knocked on the neighbor’s door, nothing.

I knocked on my uncles front door, nothing.

My uncles’ cars had all been cleared away and I immediately thought to myself, “Mexico!” My uncle has a knack for visiting the country whenever he gets the chance, I assumed that’s where he was today, I had missed my chance to have a place to stay for a few days! damn! I went back to my car, sat on the dirty hood and placed a call to my dad’s cell phone, whom I had promised to call once I had arrived, and I got nothing. I was actually alone at my destination. I had even more time to think about my plans and that was something that  I totally didn’t want to do at that time. yuck. I didn’t want the headache. So I gave up on attempting to call anyone and I waited….and waited….. and waited…

I waited for about an hour and I was ready to hop in my car and drive to my friend’s place or  look for a room to rent when I heard the familiar sound of my uncles hemi truck haul ass up the hill. My heart skipped a few beats when he drove past me and jetted to the parking space he had claimed as his own. I was not ready to face him with whatever embarrassing offer I had planned to give him. He saw me and eyed me as my little cousin, his neighbor, her kids, and my uncles new wife got out of the car and went inside their respective homes, leaving my uncle and myself to talk it out. I approached him and began my long-winded story as he eyed me with gentle eyes. this threw me off, since when has my uncle shown me any remorse towards anything I have ever said, for all I knew, this man hated anyone that wasn’t his child. He was the one that kicked us out when we needed him the most right after my graduation from film school. In front of me was the man who hated everything about me, my lifestyle, my way of dressing, my personality, everything! Yet here he was, looking at me and listening as I told my story about my departure and my sudden arrival.

After my story had ended and I had pretty much spilled my guts on the floor, all he did was watch me. He watched me for what felt like eternity before he finally spoke.

“Listen, I like the idea of you finally taking a stand and leaving that place, but times are hard here, and you happen to have amazing timing, starting school during the beginning of the economic crisis,  coming back when  I have no money, I can’t really afford you living here now that I have the misses with me.”

I looked at the ground avoiding contact, actually I was crying and tearing myself up on the inside and I didn’t want him to see my face.

“… She had to leave her kids in mexico to live here, did you know that?”

I laughed on the inside, “What kind of mother abandons her children for a man she just met a few months earlier?” This immediately set up red flags as to what type of woman she was…and I disliked her already.

“Wow!” I said to him, “that’s  difficult to do! why did she do that?”

He danced around the question, but I had to watch myself and hold my tongue if I wanted a place to stay so I allowed him to continue.

“I have to take care of my Diabetes, turns out i got it, runs in the family I believe, but I have it controlled, I eat healthy now. I have Luz cooking fresh meals every night. Shes an amazing cook damn! And did you check out here ass? I could fuck that ass all night!”

I adjusted my shirt and my heavy bag I had forgotten I was carrying around and wincing at the most horrific visual danced around my head. I tried to shrug it off, but it was too late. It was etched into my mind forever. Thankfully, I could recall the visual for a new horror screenplay I could manifest the visual, and pass it on.

“I can give you money…. I don’t have a lot to give you, but I can help you with groceries, pay a little rent for something, I won’t be here all day everyday, I have a job with a designer and I can pay you some money, 60 bucks…”

” 100!” chimed my uncle.

“okay, if that’s what you want, I can give you that and once I become stable in some capacity, I can give you a little more money, hopefully you can let me have the apartment downstairs someday too.”

My uncle looked at me and smiled for the first time in a long time that I could recall.

“My lady won’t like it, but you can have the room in the back, move the Wii and toy bike, and you can have that room.”

I thanked him like I have never thanked anyone in my life. My uncle has just become another person will be remembered as helping me build the foundation of the first day of the rest of my life.

I walked inside, said “Hi.” to the missis in the kitchen and hugged my little cousin as I made my way down the long corridor and burst into my new room, dusty from its last inhabitants, my grandparents.

I took in a breath as the scent of my grandmothers presence put me into a calmer mood. I  trudged my way towards the poster bed in the middle of the room. I looked around the dusty dressers and the cobwebbed perfume bottles.  I didn’t want to touch a single things, not because it seemed disgusting, but because all of this was finally making me at ease. The room was dim and cool, just what I wanted at that very moment. I decided to leave my stuff in the car, it wasn’t going anywhere anytime soon, and I dropped the messenger bag beside me and I climbed onto the massive bed without removing any of the pillows, curled up and immediately began to fall asleep.

Leave a Reply

